Skip to main content
jump to navigation
The Official Site of Minor League Baseball
Below is an advertisement.
Jim McCurdy
Pioneer League

Jim has served as the President of the Pioneer League since 1993, overseeing the development of stadium projects, cultivation of long-standing relationships with MLB parent clubs and a meteoric rise in fan attendance. Jim mediated the 1992 restructure of MiLB's governing body, was appointed by the MiLB President as a representative of minor league baseball on the Professional Baseball Executive Council, chaired by Bud Selig, and was a member of the inaugural MiLB Board of Trustees. He is a former team owner and operator of clubs in the Pioneer and Northwest Leagues.

McCurdy is an internationally recognized expert in Sports Law, having initiated a top-selling casebook for law school use (now in the 7th edition). He publishes and presents regularly in the area, with topics including "Thunder on the Road from Seattle to Oklahoma City: Moving from NOPA to ZOPA in the NBA;" "Specific Performance in Sports Venue Leases, Equity and Economic Efficiency;" and "The Fundamental Nature of Professional Sports Leagues, Constituent Clubs, and Mutual Duties to Protect Market Opportunities: An Organized Baseball Case Study." Jim has taught International Sports Law at the University of San Diego and in the school's London program. He taught Sports Law at Gonzaga University, where he is Professor Emeritus; at the University of Connecticut; and at the University of South Dakota. He also specializes in Oil & Gas Law and the resolution of disputes through negotiation and mediation. He was appointed as Washington State's representative on the commission charged with the Superfund cleanup of the Coeur d'Alene basin.

Jim graduated from the University of Texas School of Law and earned his BBA from the University of Houston. He received a 2011 Spirit Award from Prime Magazine as one of six Spokane community individuals 60 years or older, who continue to make a difference through their acts of kindness and contributions.

Back to Affiliated Members/Council of League Presidents home »